Weekend Recap

Friday morning started with a great run with the  Back on my Feet team and  Oats in a Bowl with a spoonful of Sunflower butter.

And I might have had a few “tastes” of the Berry Pie I made before my work day began. Just a few.

We had a bunch of friends over that night for a little grill party with meats from The Meat House. I made a few sides of fresh salsa, some of Jaime’s guacamole, and fresh corn salad. Finished with a “goodbye to summer” of Eva’s Berry Pie.

The evening progressed to several rounds of Rock Band. I managed to take a bunch of out of focus pictures. I’m sure the glass or two of wine consumed had nothing to do with it. I did manage to capture this VERY serious one of Ben.

He’s a bit of a Rock Band expert.

Saturday was a pretty slow and lazy day for me. Not a great night’s sleep and I skipped out on my five-mile run and went for a measly two. Oh well, something is better than nothing, right?

Saturday night I had some quality time with Amanda, Joe, Isaac, Leah and Eli! Lots of snuggly baby time with Eli.

I’m starting to be a little less nervous holding little babies, although I still ask multiple times if I’m holding their head okay, feeding them correctly, burping them right etc. :)

Check out the awesome safari vest that Isaac got for his birthday in July!

We made a little game out of my attempting to catch a picture of Isaac and Leah as they ran away.

Isaac blur…

And a Leah blur…

Meanwhile Amanda prepared a delightful meal, starting with her coveted Artichoke dip which I will share the recipe at the end. I of course neglected to take a picture until after I had eaten almost all of it!

For the main meal, Amanda prepared this amazing Roasted Tomato Basil Pesto from Oh She Glows.

Isaac wanted to share in the food processor moment!

Before we partook in the delicious meal, we had a champagne toast to a home cooked meal in the new Giacometti home.

Um…..YUM

I’m pretty sure I will have to replicate this one sometime this week. Of course, Amanda knew I needed a sweet treat and prepared some brownies. Once again, picture not taken, eaten too quickly!

What did you do this weekend?

Amanda’s Artichoke Dip

  • 2 cans artichoke hearts, quartered, drained
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • pepper, to taste
  • 2 – 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley
Mix all ingredients and put in baking dish at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes. Serve immediately.
2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. great job getting that run in saturday. highly impressive! keep it up =)

    thanks for all the cooking and hosting! have a great week of training

    also throw some protein powder in those no oats #EAS #EAS #workoutisntdoneuntilyouEAS perhaps if #EAS sent you a free sample…

    and you forgot to mention the cali BLT’s i made for lunch. will share recipe if you need them

  2. Jess, looks like you had a fun weekend! Have you tried EAS products before? Stefon, thanks for the reco! What’s your favorite EAS product? ~Jon @EAS

Leave a Reply

