The Blood Orange

Aren’t they pretty? I had forgotten about these until reading up on some recipes from How Sweet It Is.

I know I say this often, but you should probably make this, Citrus Crusted Tilapia with Blood Orange Salsa (except I used haddock instead). I’m not a big fan when a fish is “farmed” and that was my only Tilapia option. Is that weird, to not like “farmed fish”? I know I need to read up more on sustainable fishing and make better purchases. The haddock I bought was “gill caught”, I’m thinking that means it’s a better environmental choice, but I might be totally off. Any thoughts?

Loved this salsa, whether served with the fish or not. Delicious.

I was proud of my one personal creation this evening. I tried to re-create the brussel sprout salad I had the other night. This salad was healthy and just what I wanted on the side. Chopped brussel sprouts, a cup of grapes, slice them in half, 1/8 cup chopped walnuts, a tablespoon each of olive oil and Dijon mustard.

All together now!

Oh! I almost forgot. Breakfast!

I made these, Whole Wheat Pancakes, except I “veganized” them. Yes, I made that up, you’re welcome. Fat free milk = Vanilla soy milk and Eggs = Flax Seed Eggs.

This is my new favorite thing, one Egg = one Flax Seed Egg (1 tablespoon Ground Flax Seed + 3 tablespoons water, sit for 5 minutes). Comes in handy when you don’t have any eggs in your fridge!

I know, looks like sawdust, but does not taste like it, I promise. Pancakes served with Earth Balance butter and Maple Syrup.

I had these and a banana,  and they kept me full all the way through my four mile run during lunch time!

 

Leave a Reply

