Book Time

In addition to my obsession with food and running, I also love to read. It just so happens the most recent book I finished was about running. Believe it or not, READING about running was actually what motivated me to start running again for the first time since track in high school.

For over ten years, my fitness pattern was to do some elliptical and basic weight machines at the gym for a solid three months, and then pretend that I did not have a gym membership for six months, return again and you get the picture. In August 2008, I stopped by Porter Square Books and happened to pick up Haruki Marakami’s book, What I Talk About, When I Talk About Running. I don’t know what it was, but something about how he describes his experience and memories of running sparked a motivation in me to pick it up again. I quickly went from couch potato to runner and other than some brief interludes of running injuries and snowy weeks, haven’t turned back since.

So whenever I feel my motivation dwindling, as cheesy as it might sound, I pick up a book about running to inspire me. Going Long was filled with the best of stories taken from Runner’s World Magazine. I found some to be incredibly insightful and some just your basic running stories.

What do you do when you need an incentive to run? Any running books that have been most helpful to you?

 

 

One thought on “Book Time

  1. Pingback: It’s that time again… | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

