Week 1 Check!

I made it! Half Marathon Training Week 1 accomplished! Which means, in case I have not mentioned it enough, pedicure for me tomorrow!

My intention was to run outside this morning for the 5 miles, I headed out the door and quickly realized that despite my early wake up time it was just too hot to run the 5 outside. Instead I ran to the gym, ran on the treadmill and ran home. The gym is actually pretty pleasant at 7:30 am on a Sunday morning.

Week 2 will be posted tomorrow.

Ben and I went to church and then parted ways so he could play a round of golf and I headed home for some relaxation, cleaning, and cooking time. The apartment was toasty so I made a smoothie for lunch. I don’t know the last time I’ve had or made a smoothie, but this was pretty good.

Blended a frozen banana, vanilla soy milk, a peach, chia seeds and a handful of cherries, yum! I need to make these more often.

Served in a frosty mug.

Since Ben had the car I decided to walk to the store for my regular Sunday grocery shopping. I’m just a little bit Type A about my Sunday afternoons and evenings. You’ll find that I will rarely agree to plans on a Sunday evening, I get stressed if I don’t have that time to  focus and get myself prepared for the week which includes my grocery shopping and lunch prep.

This is what you will normally see at my apartment on a Sunday…

The salad line up! I eat a salad every day for lunch at work and put them together on Sunday afternoons. I know that sounds pretty tedious, but I do change them up every week. This week I am using up a lot of farm share veggies, including red and green leaf lettuce, summer squash, green beans and cucumber. I’ve added some olives and fresh Fiore di Nonno mozzarella. I also use this time to wash any fruits or make any snacks that I will be eating throughout the week.

Tonight, I went recipe free for dinner! I know, not so impressive when it’s a dinner of turkey burgers, sweet potato fries and grilled corn, but still, it’s new for me. For the turkey burgers I added minced jalapeno, red onion, cilantro, and garlic and a handful of shredded mexican cheese. Here they are ready to go on the grill.

Time to eat!

All agreed, the turkey burgers were great. Our friend, Joey joined us for dinner too.

I wasn’t kidding when I said I pretty much spend my entire Sunday night cooking, so I continued on with baking some snacks for the week. Apricot Pistachio bars a la Carrots N Cake. Ben and I will enjoy these all week.

Enough, time for Curb your Enthusiasm. Now question for you, do you have any weird Sunday night routines like me? Please share, I can’t be the only one!

9 thoughts on “Week 1 Check!

  1. half marathon training for me this week…not so much. and this coming week is pretty busy in the evenings. i’m impressed by the organization for the week’s lunch meals. can you come to my house and do that? sunday night ritual for me is trying to get caught up on everything that i didnt get a chance to do on saturday and sunday…if i can stay awake!

  2. I wish I could say that I cooked as much as you on a Sunday, but I don’t do that much cooking for a whole week! I do, however, get lunch ready for the week on Sundays (when I am in school, of course!) Those turkey burgers look delicious…I think I may try them out! (keep the recipes coming!) 🙂

  3. Seriously, I knew you prepared for the week ahead on Sundays but I don’t think I ever realized how much you did!! You’re amazing!! I need Joe to NOT read this post so he doesn’t see how good Ben has it!! 🙂 I LOVE your blog!!

    • Thanks Amanda! Joe knows he has it very good and you do all your cooking with three little ones, I am not under any delusion that I will be able to pull this off with kids!! 🙂

  4. I agree with Amanda, I hope Ben knows how good he has it. Having such a great cook in the house is a new and wonderful experience for him:) Hope to see you soon.

  5. Pingback: For the Love of Bread | runningbonvivant

  6. Pingback: Family Fun | runningbonvivant

  7. Pingback: Night In | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

