Epic Fail

Okay, so maybe not everything was a complete failure, but it kind of feels like it was. So I did do my run (which ended up being moved indoors due to the early am temperatures) and when I got home from work spent some quality Jillian Michaels time with her Six Week Six Pack DVD. I guess today was exercise success anyway.

The day had started off with our Carbon Dioxide alarm going off due to a dead battery. Since it was close to the time for me to get up for my workout I sat in the living room to wake up for a bit and then a house centipede ran across the floor, grossest bugs ever! I should have known this was not going to be my day.

Later on that day, after my evening workout, I did the final prep on my gazpacho recipe which I had taken from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook. Ben loves gazpacho and had been asking me to make it so I thought this is perfect, I’ll make it for a hot night when no one wants to eat hot food. Let me mention, this is the first time I’ve eaten or made gazpacho.

Well, the gazpacho…no good. Ben had expected a different “consistency” than what was achieved and I don’t know if it’s that I will never be a gazpacho fan or if I just didn’t like this recipe, but this was a FAIL. Thankfully, I had just baked a baguette so we were able to snack on that (more on the bread another day), but my landlord was coming by with our lease for the next year so we missed out on eating it hot out of the oven.

I spent a solid 45 minutes negotiating the possibility of getting a dog with our landlord under our current lease terms (which clearly says no dog). I was SO close to success and then sadly, lost. For those that know me, you know how much I want a dog so this is a sad outcome. Yes, we had thought about moving so we could get one, but if you rent in the Boston area, you know why we didn’t, rents have gone up astronomically over the past year and we also had moved every year and just weren’t ready to pack up again. Huge bummer.

While I was wallowing in the thought of another dogless year I happened to glance down at my work blackberry. That was around 9:04pm, and at 9:00pm I was supposed to be on a WebEx with Japan. Awesome. Thankfully, this was not a meeting that I had needed to prep for in advance, but I am always greatly embarrassed at being late. Oops.

At least, Ben helped make my evening a little bit better by agreeining to my irrational need for Pinkberry Frozen Yogurt. He drove me over to Harvard Square and I enjoyed a cup of the Salted Caramel. Now, I am sleepy and it is time for bed. It is a new day tomorrow and I have some speed workouts to get in!

2 thoughts on “Epic Fail

  1. Pingback: Cool Beverages | runningbonvivant

  2. Pingback: Slacker Sunday | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

