Coconut & Lemongrass

Before I get started talking about food, I realize I missed my Monday recap and schedule for the week!

Rather than bore you will all of last week’s details, I am happy to say I successfully completed my workout schedule and I think I may have even thrown in an extra day of strength training. Gold star for me, and much better than my performance the week before.

Here’s my plan for this week. Somehow I have already used up my weekly rest day based on my lack of alarm awareness this morning so it is a full week ahead:

  • Mon – Strength Training, Jillian Michaels of course
  • Tues – Day of Rest
  • Wed – Run 3 or 3.5m & Strength
  • Thurs – Speed 6×400
  • Fri – Run 3 or 3.5m & Strength
  • Sat – Run 3m
  • Sun – Run 7m

I am boldly going to say that last night I made my favorite recipe of 2011. I would be more than happy to be challenged with one that surpasses for flavor and ease, but for now that is absolutely it. This is not the first time I have made this recipe, it is one of many, but the first time since I started this blog.

I did warn you that you would hear about this one more than once, but this recipe is from my favorite, Melissa Clark’s In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite.

Insert picture here (if I had not used Forbidden Rice that was delicious, but made the stew an unappetizing shade of gray).

I’ve made a few adjustments here to meet our spiciness and “healthiness” preferences since I make this one pretty often. The recipe is for two servings, but we always seem to have a bit leftover so I would say two to three.

Adapted from In the Kitchen with a Good Appetite

Coconut Fish Stew with Basil and Lemongrass

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 2 shallots, thinly sliced
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 (13.5 oz) can light coconut milk
  • 1 lemongrass stalk, finely chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • finely grated zest of 1 lime
  • 3/4 lb white fish cut into 1 1/2-inch chunks ( I tend to use halibut or cod, also could cook with shrimp and scallops, but lessen the final cooking time)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • freshly squeezed lime juice from zested lime
  • cooked black or wild rice
  1. Heat oil in a pot over medium heat. Add the shallots and garlic and cook, stirring, until the shallots are softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Stir in the stock, light coconut milk, lemongrass, jalapeno, vinegar, fish sauce, sugar, salt and lime zest. Simmer for 10 minutes.
  2. Stir in the fish and herbs and cook until fish is done, usually around 10 to 12 minutes depending on thickness. If using scallops or shrimp only a few minutes should be needed.
  3. Stir in the lime juice and the cooked black or wild rice. Make sure you prepare the rice separately and then add it in at the end.
  4. Enjoy and come back here to comment when you make it! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Coconut & Lemongrass

  1. Pingback: Can We Start Over? | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

