Twin Peaks Tuesday

Last night our friends Ian and Mary came over to officially begin the Twin Peaks Tuesday Marathon. Do any of you remember Twin Peaks from the early 90’s? I actually had never seen it, but Mary came up with this fun idea for us to watch the show together from beginning to end. We watched the pilot episode and the second one last night. Most definitely entertaining, and often hilarious.

Before the Twin Peaks debut, Mary and I cooked up some pizza, I was happy to use the olive oil dough recipe again, from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day. This time I brushed the rolled out crust with a bit of garlic olive oil which added an extra layer of flavor. After that, a layer of San Marzano crushed tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, sliced tomatoes, sliced onion, chopped prosciutto and some summer squash. Served with a salad of arugula and red leaf lettuce, lemon juice and olive oil.

For dessert, I was super excited to try out this adorable little cookbook, Macarons: Authentic French Cookie Recipes from the Macaron Cafe. Confession, I was using the copy from the library, but have since gone ahead and purchased this one. I know, I know, I really don’t have the room, but it’s tiny, see?

I was in a rush when I made them the night before so I was not careful to make them the right size or look anything like they were supposed to really, but they were still delicious and surprisingly easy to make thanks to the directions.

Baked and then packed up to keep in the refrigerator until Twin Peaks night. There are recipes for numerous fillings for the macaron shells, but to keep it simple I selected the basic Vanilla Buttercream filling and added some mini chocolate chips.

The end result!

Anyone want to come over and help me finish these? They are a little dangerous to have around.

 

6 thoughts on “Twin Peaks Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Ruth Reichl is Awesome | runningbonvivant

  2. Doesn’t Twin Peaks take place near Seattle? I never watched it, but seems to me I heard it was filmed there. Like in Cle Elum. and your food looks amazing!!!

  3. Pingback: Night In | runningbonvivant

  4. Pingback: Twin Peaks Tuesday #2 | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

