Ruth Reichl is Awesome

I just finished Ruth Reichl’s book, Tender at the Bone and cherished every minute of it. I love reading the memories of her family, her introduction to cream puffs and beautiful French food, and cooking for friends in Berkeley, particularly the Thanksgiving story.

Have you read any of her books? You should. I’ve also read Garlic and Sapphires and plan to read her other books that I’ve missed and anything else she writes for that matter. I don’t know about you, but I am still heartbroken over the demise of Gourmet magazine. I refuse to get rid of the final issue, it will stay in my magazine basket forever.

I was bummed that my speed workout did not go as planned yesterday, unfortunately had some stomach troubles that did not make the full workout possible. I did manage to get up this morning though and run with Back on my Feet and finish up at home with a session of 30 Day Shred.

Last night I wasn’t really in the mood to cook (I know, weird?) so Ben ate some leftover pizza and I chopped up various veggies from my farm share.

Ribbons of fresh zucchini and summer squash, mixed with tomatoes, green beans, cucumber, burrata, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. A little random, but tasty.

Finished up with a macaron of course!

What do you do when you just don’t feel like cooking? My initial plan was to order out, but Ben reminded me that we should try to save money (we are in the second month of attempting to follow a budget, more on that later) and I was happy he did as it also meant I ate something healthier.

One thought on “Ruth Reichl is Awesome

  1. Usually some kind of pasta dish…like last night. I could pretty much never get tired of pasta and there are so many simple things to do with it!

Leave a Reply

