The Chore Chart

This is going to be a very varied post, a little bit about cleaning and organizing, a little eating and a little working out (or lack thereof).

I think I’ve mentioned before that I am not a fan of cleaning and if I haven’t, let me be clear, I HATE TO CLEAN. I wish I was someone who enjoyed it or used the activity as a stress reliever, but that is just not me. In fact, not only do I find cleaning stressful, because I dislike it so much (and it’s time-consuming), but also the fact that where you cleaned is dirty TWO SECONDS later I find very unsatisfying. That being said, I love to have a place that friends come over at anytime and feel comfortable to do so, but I also get a little embarrassed by the state of our place at times.

You also know how much I love to cook and if Ben had the opportunity to post he would chime in on how I like to be the world’s messiest cook. He was considering starting his own blog called “Dishes for Two” to show the world just how big a mess I can make. We have typically split up the food situation in that I prepare all the meals and Ben cleans most of the dishes. Well, this week I have put an end to this division of responsibilities.

Welcome to the Chore Chart.

Ben will now be handling the tasks on my beautiful Chore Chart, I’ll handle some of the more “in-depth” cleaning such as the tub or fridge etc. and I will also now resume cleaning the dishes. Thoughts?

In case you were still formulating an opinion about me, this will probably confirm it for you, control freak much?

In addition to the chore chart, I’ve also been a bit frustrated about my pantry/baking items chaos. It’s so hard half the time to know what is available to me to cook since I have to unpack the overstuffed cabinets. No more! I have now purchased many organizing containers for all my many different types of flour and have also used a set of Ball canning jars to store my approximately 12 different types of rice and grains (no, that does not include pastas). Now the goal is to use the food!

Okay, I’ll be back to being normal now, I think I’ve let out enough control freak for one day.

Here are my workout plans for the week. I did take yesterday and today off from exercising partially because of time and needed sleep, but I’m also feeling some pains from Sunday’s run so thought it was best to include some rest.

  • Monday – Rest
  • Tuesday – Rest
  • Wednesday – Run with Back on my Feet & Strength
  • Thursday  – 7×400 @5k pace
  • Friday – Run 8 miles
  • Saturday –  easy 3 mile if possible (travelling over the weekend)
  • Sunday – Run 4 miles

As promised, to hold myself accountable, here are my Monday eats:

  • Two slices homemade whole wheat flaxseed bread w/ Sunflower Butter
  • Banana
  • Iced coffee with vanilla soy milk
  • Greens with Cotija cheese, avocado, corn, heirloom tomatoes, bell pepper and lime juice
  • Whole Foods Pizzelles for something sweet
  • Handful of cherries
  • AND…

M/C Crab Cakes
Mom’s Slaw, Sweet and Spicy Chili Aioli,

Grilled Cornish Game Hen
Stuffed with Greenhouse Herb Ricotta, Tomato Jam, Polenta “Fries”

Chocolate Almond Cake
with Sugared Peaches and Crème Fraiche

I know, not the healthiest of choices, but this was a special dinner with my old Davis Square roommates and it was delicious and so much fun to get together. We all met at Summer Winter in Burlington and since it was Restaurant Week in Boston we enjoyed a lovely three course meal for a very reasonable price!

I selected the options above along with a glass of white wine sangria, but the decision-making was tough. As usual, with my poor photography skills AND the fact that I forgot to take a picture of all of us together (ugh) this is the only photo I will show, which is of the main entrée.

What did you have for dinner last night? How do you divide up household responsibilities? Do you have a chore chart (can’t just be me, right)?

4 thoughts on “The Chore Chart

  1. Growing up my oldest sister made a “laundry chart” for my sisters and I to follow daily. Turns out my younger sister and I couldn’t reach the washing machine and got out of it! it is still hanging up in my parents basement.

  2. I tried convincing Joe he should follow your chore chart but he wasn’t having it. I guess Ben’s just a bigger man than him!! Maybe if my children realize their Uncle Ben has one, though, then they will want one too!! Never too young, right?! And dinner last night for us was rice and chicken with basil sauce. YUM!!

  3. I might also steal the chore chart and post it on my fridge! (Although, then again, Jeremy’s mother will probably think it’s for HER and do the chores for him! I will have to make it clear!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

