Hurricaning

With Hurricane Irene supposedly striking for most of the day on Sunday Ben and I planned to stay in. If you know me, you know I love having a lazy day in with no plans. Even though I am incapable of sleeping in anymore, it is so nice not to set the alarm. I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I also love watching TV, one of my very bad habits, so I knew a day without plans or “productivity requirements” meant lots of TV time! Hurray!

One of the gifts I gave Ben for his birthday was a Breville juicer. Ben has mentioned many times over the past year how he would love a juicer, I was a little worried since he hadn’t mentioned it very recently, but there was no need to worry, he was thrilled! It’s pretty isn’t it? Can you believe this is the compact version?

To start the day off right, Ben made some delicious juice using a recipe from the Breville book with apples, carrots and celery.

Juicing away!

Nice work Ben!

I know the picture doesn’t really show it, but this was a nice pumpkiny orange color and very refreshing. Ben is hooked for sure.

Since juice is not quite enough to fill me up for “brunch” I threw together some scrambled eggs with tomato, cubanelle peppers and shallots all from our farm share. I picked up the eggs from Dave’s Fresh Pasta, which these particular eggs came from Goat Nook Farm in Cummington, MA. I love the label they use on their egg cartons.

With copious amounts of mexican cheese, of course!

Yum!

Knowing that we had endless hours today, I took advantage of the time and made a recipe that requires a few hours of wait time. Mexican Sweet Rolls or also known as Pan Dulce! I have made these once before on a snowstorm day, they are really addicting so it’s probably best I don’t always have time to make them.

The recipe I use is from my cookbook collection, specifically Gourmet Today. It’s actually pretty easy, especially if you have a stand mixer. Throw together the ingredients for the dough and allow the kitchen aid mixer to do the work. The ingredients are pretty basic such as flour, sugar, butter, eggs etc. so you most likely have these available at any time. The first wait time for the dough to rise is around an hour and a half to two hours. For the “topping” you basically just throw your list of ingredients into a food processor until it forms into a ball, a little sugar, flour, butter and cinnamon.

You roll the topping into 12 separate balls on parchment or waxed paper and place a sheet on top. Using a glass each ball is flattened into a disc and then all are chilled in the fridge for about an hour to be ready in time for the rising dough.

Once the dough has doubled in size it is separated into 12 separate balls as well and flattened slightly into rounded discs.

Time to add the topping…

After pressing a disc of topping on to each roll using egg wash, a knife is used to make the cross hatch design typically found on Mexican Sweet Rolls.

Now they are ready for the next rising time, about an hour and a half.

Finally, time to eat!

I might have had one or two, or let’s be honest three, throughout the day. I made Ben take them to work with him today.

For dinner (yes, even though I ate three Mexican Sweet Rolls I still need dinner) Ben grilled some steak tips for himself for dinner and lunch during the week and I made a Kale Salad for us both to enjoy from Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Every Day.

I will make this Kale Salad recipe again and again. It is simple and delicious, I made some minor alterations to lower the amount of olive oil used for me, but perfect as is!

Clearly there was a lot of food at our place during the storm, what did you do to pass the time?  I was pretty thankful to have our power stay on, but I know many did not have the same experience. What did you do with your time if you lost power?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hurricaning

  1. Well, at my house, we made waffles with nutella, blueberries, and maple syrup for breakfast. Around mid-morning, we moved on to dark chocolate chip cookies. And then after lunch, we baked banana bread. We also watched almost an entire season of Covert Affairs. I like hurricanes.

  2. Pingback: Reporting Back | runningbonvivant

Leave a Reply

