Fall? Really?

I don’t know about you, but these darker early mornings have been making it harder for me to wake up for my workouts. I know most New Englanders look forward to the anticipation of fall, but I get a little too stuck on the season that follows so quickly afterwards. I think my goal for now and the next few months needs to be to focus on the positives of fall like pumpkin beer, apple cider donuts and cooler runs. Also, heavily considering investing in one of those alarm clocks that not only wakes you up, but gradually lights up your room for a natural wakening. Any one out there have one of those? Tell me what you think!

The good thing is knowing I was planning to meet up with my Back on my Feet team yesterday morning was helpful to get me going. We had a nice three-mile run and I felt like I was actually able to keep up with most everyone which was a great way to start the day.

I had received another bunch of those pretty Chiogga beets in my farm share this week. I threw them in the oven for some roasting time and chopped up the beet greens. Added some Gruyère, tomatoes and balsamic vinegar, yum!

For dinner I was pretty excited to try out yet another cookbook from my library, Ancient Grains for Modern Meals. I’m loving the latest cookbook trend to include a little snapshot of the author’s life with each recipe, making it so much more unique. I’m a little nervous that there might be yet another addition to my cookbook collection. Yikes, serious space issues ahead!

There are many delectable recipes to choose from in this cookbook. I have not had a lot of polenta experiences in my cooking, but I know I love it, so I thought the Artichoke-Rosemary Tart with Polenta Crust sounded perfect.

First step is to cook and make the polenta crust. I inadvertently received a bit of an arm workout from this step. The best thing about making this crust is that there is no rolling-pin involved! Once ready, you use a wooden spoon to spread the mixture and fit to the tart pan. Add your artichokes and crumble some goat cheese.

While the crust is firming up, I chopped all the fresh herbs, green onions, parsley and rosemary…

add in the Greek yogurt and eggs and it’s ready to pour over the artichokes and goat cheese with a top sprinkling of shredded Parmesan.

Voilà!

Picture that reflects the scrumptiousness of this tart = fail

I even used the option “to lighten it up” kindly provided with the recipe, using a low-fat Greek yogurt. Wouldn’t even know that anything used here was lower fat, exquisite!

For something sweet, another round of  Banana Soft Serve. Ben joined in as well, but didn’t want any mix ins, boring!

I topped with a tablespoon of Nutella.

One more note about our dinner. Ben rolled his eyes as you would imagine, but I HAD to document it.

A glass of water! Now I am a water fiend, ALWAYS have water with me at all times, but Ben is not a fan of water. I was very happy to see that he had poured himself a glass AND a refill with his dinner.

That should be enough procrastinating for me, as I’m typing this morning I’m really supposed to be out running 5 miles, but I am just not feeling it. Giving myself another 20 minutes to get my act together and get out there! Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

