Running in the Rain

I was pretty down and just all around feeling blah yesterday. I knew that the rainy weather here probably played a big part in that and a lot of people are probably feeling that same way this week in New England. Don’t you hate that, when you just can’t shake that “blah” feeling?

Anyway, I woke up this morning feeling pretty much the same way, but somehow got myself out of bed for a brief run. Had it been down-pouring at the time, I probably wouldn’t have gone, but it was just sprinkling. I did my typical warm up walk and then started to run and then it POURED for the rest of my run, but I actually loved every minute of it. It was just a fun and peaceful run, I guess that’s the best way to put it. I only ended up doing 2.5 miles since I was drenched and not really dressed appropriately for the temperature, but I’m sure I could have kept going. Ben was still sleeping when I got back so naturally I offered him a nice wet hug. He wasn’t interested.

I don’t know what it was about the run, but I just felt a lot less blah when I was done. Maybe it sounds cheesy, but I was thankful for the run in the rain and I want to remember to be thankful for other things too, does it help you to look back on what you are thankful for when you have that “blah” feeling? I don’t know for me, but I’m going to try. Here goes…

Besides being thankful for my run in the rain…

I am SO thankful for the family and friends that God has blessed me with, I cannot say that enough.

I’m thankful that Ben and I have found a church community that we love and belong to and that continually reminds us of God’s presence in our lives.

I’m thankful for the time this week I had catching up with some of my best friends, Jaime and Kristen, and meeting baby Zoe for the first time.

I’m thankful that Mary and Ian knew exactly what to prepare for a cold and rainy Twin Peaks Wednesday (and for my “blah” mood).

Gourmet grilled cheese, creamy tomato soup & brownies, yum!

What are you thankful for this week?

One thought on “Running in the Rain

Leave a Reply

