I Skipped my Long Run…

That’s right! Just totally decided I didn’t feel like doing it. No long run on Sunday, could have tried to pull if off another time or maybe done at least something yesterday or today. Nope, big fat NOTHING.

I don’t know if I should change my tune and be really mad at myself that I skipped my long run or if I should be happy that for once I’m not all that stressed about it. The ridiculous thing is that I really had no reason not to run my 11 miles. I had a delicious carb loaded meal the night before, not the best night’s sleep, but enough to make it, but I just decided not too.

My lack of commitment does make me a little nervous for the upcoming races in October. Since I had already downgraded my goal this fall from a marathon to a half, I really wanted to run this half marathon at least a little bit faster than last year’s, but now I don’t know. I’m definitely not in the same shape that I was last fall so it’s unlikely. And I guess that’s okay, right? Alright, that’s probably enough apathy for one post.

The final review of last week’s routine…

  • Mon – Rest Done
  • Tues – Rest again Clearly
  • Wed – Run 3m & Strength Switched to a half speed workout, no strength
  • Thurs – 9×400 Speed Workout 2.5 mile 
  • Fri – Run with Back on my Feet & Strength Run only, apparently didn’t want to do strength training this week
  • Sat – Run 5m 2 miles
  • Sun – Run 11m ZERO
Hmmm…how about a pedicure incentive this week? I’m certainly in need of a pedicure and probably even more in need of some motivation.
  • Mon – Rest
  • Tues – Run 5m & Strength
  • Wed – Run with  Back on my Feet
  • Thurs – 9×400 Speed Workout
  • Fri –  Run with  Back on my Feet & Strength
  • Sat – Run 3m
  • Sun – Run 11m
Now, onto a delicious dinner at Posto in Davis Square with my friend Heidi. We love this place, awesome cocktails and food. I know I should really try a different entrée sometime, but their pizzas are so good I can’t bring myself to choose something else.
A Sangria Noir and Cherry Bella
I went for a basic, but delicious Margherita pizza…
And Heidi had the Cotto, rosemary ham, figs, fior di latte, asiago, arugula and vincotto. Yum!
I was originally thinking it would be best for me to skip the dessert, but then Heidi happened to mention a fall flavor at JP Licks, Apple Crisp. I of course recommended we make a JP Licks stop immediately. On our way, we just might have run in front of traffic to catch up with an adorable yellow lab puppy! Wish I had taken a picture. 🙂
What is your favorite fall dessert? I highly recommend the Apple Crisp ice cream!
Leave a Reply

