Comfort Me with Apples

Once again, thoroughly enjoyable and delightful read from Ruth Reichl. I am especially looking forward to trying out one recipe in particular in this book, for Swiss Pumpkin. Essentially a cheesy fondue roasted in a pumpkin, YUM!

As I’ve said before, Ruth Reichl is awesome! Now that I’ve finished Comfort Me with Apples, I’m starting to get a little worried that I’m running low on remaining Ruth Reichl reads. I think I might only have one left, yikes! Hope she is writing more…

If you are in New England, you probably noticed the sudden switch to crisp fall temperatures over the past few days. Friday morning I finally woke up to my alarm and joined the Back on my Feet team for a chilly run. I could tell I had not done as much running this week as my body was not fully awake until well after the first mile, but overall the run felt great.

When I returned home I felt it only appropriate to make a warm breakfast and decided to give one of these oatmeal recipes a try, the Apple Pie Oatmeal. This was exactly what I was craving on a fall morning and it left my apartment with the scent of warm apples all day.

I’ll be eating this again, that’s for sure!

Saturday morning I did a quick three-mile run and got ready to head up to New Hampshire for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower. We all brought a favorite recipe to share with Jackie.

Lots of special treats, delectable desserts and adorable favors!

I didn’t get a close up picture, but this was a VERY impressive ribbon bouquet.

A fun time was had by all and we all left stuffed and ready for a nap. Happy Bridal Shower Jackie!

One last pose from my other sister-in-law Bethany, the soon to be twenty year old!

Happy (early) Birthday Bethany!

Leave a Reply

