A Week of Vegan Eating

Last week I watched the documentary Forks Over Knives and found it to be really interesting and motivating. I had already given a lot of thought in this realm from reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivores Dilemma, and In Defense of Food, and Mark Bittman’s Food Matters. A lot of what I read really resonates with me and I have to admit, I believe a lot of what they have to say. I’ve already been headed in this direction, by cutting out as many processed foods as possible (except for gum of course, but that’s not a food now is it?), and incorporating more vegetarian meals and less animal protein over all.

Hence the reason for declaring this week, a Week of Vegan eating. Sort of…

First, to be clear, Ben was not excited for, happy about, or even ever formally agreed to be a part of this week, so he will tell you that he is being held as a participant of the Week of Vegan Eating against his will. 🙂 Secondly, the week of Vegan eating does NOT apply for times where our friends are preparing meals this week, so don’t worry anyone that is providing a delicious meal for us, anything is welcome (well, except for peas and peanuts, Ben’s allergic). Just want to make sure that is clear as it would be kind of unfair to expect vegan meals, when we are not committed to the lifestyle.

Okay, with that said, I don’t think I could ever officially pursue being vegan or even vegetarian permanently. I just don’t want to completely limit myself in that way, just like I don’t want to cut out everything having to do with my insatiable sweet tooth, because it doesn’t work for me. That decision is totally up to each individual. BUT I do want a “diet” that is mostly plant-based, whole foods, with some room for other things in moderation. Specifically, there are some things that I’m just not willing to totally give up right now:

  1. Frozen Yogurt, obviously
  2. Cheese
  3. Eggs (more for what they are in, such as Chocolate Brioche)
  4. Fish
  5. Thanksgiving Turkey
  6. And the occasional serving of prosciutto or bacon…

Let the week of Vegan eating begin!

My biggest dilemma was trying to come up with a lunch for Ben, especially since I didn’t have much time last night. I did come across this slow cooker recipe from Peas and Thank You that was quick and easy. Ben loves coconut and curry so I figured why not the Coconut Curry Kale Stew. I added some rice to make it a little heftier for his lunch.

For breakfast, I started my day with the usual iced coffee and vanilla soy milk, and some homemade Whole Wheat Flaxseed Bread with sunflower butter.

If you check out this picture, you might realize that it is truly a Monday. Sometimes you put your bread in the toaster, and while it’s toasting you are looking all around for the plate you thought you pulled out, and then when the toaster dings you realize you’ve also toasted the plate. Oopsie.

And as if I could forget, I owe you an update. As I feared, the pedicure incentive will not be awarded this week. I missed one too many alarm clocks.

  • Mon – Rest Check
  • Tues – Run 5m & Strength Ran 4m
  • Wed – Run with  Back on my Feet Snooze
  • Thurs – 9×400 Speed Workout Snooze
  • Fri –  Run with  Back on my Feet & Strength Yes on the run
  • Sat – Run 3m Check
  • Sun – Run 11m 9m, sort of
On my long run, I was not in good shape, wasn’t feeling too well and after the sixth mile, probably did just as much walking as running. I also was having a bit of back pain all the way throughout the run and then really painful at the end. Every once in a while I’ll feel some pain after a long run, because I was maybe not running my usual “stride” but not normally for this long. Let’s hope that was just a one time thing. I am all set with having another running injury!
On to this week, I’m thinking of being a bit more realistic on my speed and strength expectations. At this point, I’m not really looking to get speedier for my upcoming half marathons, right now I just want to finish both and be happy with that goal. My training just has not gone as well as last year, I think maybe I just wasn’t as into it this time around? Who knows, but I have to feel good about doing two half marathons in one month, right? (Yes, I’m looking for motivational words here). This week I’m also going to do my long run on Saturday, I’m really tired of this not being able to do anything past 10pm on a Saturday night.
Alright, this week’s plan is:
  • Mon – Rest
  • Tues – Run 5m
  • Wed – Run with  Back on my Feet
  • Thurs – Strength
  • Fri –  Run with  Back on my Feet
  • Sat – Run 12m
  • Sun – Rest & Stretching
I was going to end the post here, but I thought you might appreciate what I’ve chosen to have for dinner after a TWO HOUR commute home.
Peanut butter cereal and a glass of Two Buck Chuck was just what I needed.
And look what I picked up at Trader Joe’s all for $25! Pretty good deal, don’t you think?
Question for you. Have you ever considered choosing to be Vegan or Vegetarian? Why did you or did you not choose to?
5 thoughts on “A Week of Vegan Eating

  1. Getting excited to see you run this weekend! I’ve never considered vegan, but not out of principle or oversight of its benefits – I just know that I wouldn’t be able to sustain the strict diet. Although I don’t know what all of the vegan no-no’s are, I think it’d be hard for me to control my cravings for the foods that I know and love. Because I’d have these cravings, I know I wouldn’t be able to maintain the diet – I’d always keep asking myself, “And why am I doing this again??” So I guess I’d need to have a much bigger motivation or purpose for switching to vegan – as in, (1) oh crap, I just had a heart attack or (2) ew, I want to throw up at the sight of a dead animal on my plate). I think a smart, personalized food plan is more sustainable than one constructed by the “expert” – which seems to be what’s been working for you. Part of me also wants to stand on my soapbox and preach about the importance of red meat, fish, and eggs (not so much chicken – we can do without)…. they’ve got some nutrients and vitamins that are pretty damn critical for vital biochemical pathways (some of which cannot be obtained from alternate food sources)!! All in moderation (unless it’s Meat House steak – does not apply).

    • Don’t worry Anna, I already ended the week of vegan eating 🙂 So, did my long run today, I’m thinking next weekend will be more like a run/walk then a run, but if you have a desire to hop in at mile 12 with me, please feel free!!!

Leave a Reply

