A Case of the Mondays

For a Monday, it really wasn’t all that bad, but for some reason I had Office Space on my mind. Sometimes I feel like I live Office Space at work, anyone else with me?

Anyway, how was your weekend? Mine was super relaxing. Aside from my run, on Saturday I accomplished pretty much ZERO productivity. Ben and I caught up with our NBC shows and when he went to a concert that night I decided to be lame and stay in to watch Grey’s Anatomy two-hour season premiere and 90210. Yes, I know that is a lot of TV, but I am willing to admit it, I love TV time! It’s really the ultimate way for me to relax.

Earlier that day, I did have the chance to make a recipe I had been thinking of trying out all week. Baked Apple Cider Donuts from Peas and Thank You. Nothing can obviously beat the typical hot and greasy apple cider donuts at the apple orchard, but these are an excellent healthy alternative. As soon as I read this post I immediately ordered a donut pan.

These will be my sweet treat all week!

On Sunday night I finally had the chance to cook one of the vegan meals I had been meaning to get to during the week. I had made these two recipes once before and found that Ben actually liked them, despite their “veganness” (I know, not a word). Mango Barbecue Beans and Mashed Yuca with Cilantro & Lime from Appetite for Reduction.

We loved the barbecue beans, but I think I either had some not so good yuca or I added way too much lime juice, because it was on the bitter side.

And the salad of the week is…………

Fresh greens with chopped walnuts, red pepper, goat cheese and roasted beets (that were still roasting away at the time of this picture).

Now on to the workout part of this post. Recap time:

  • Mon – Rest Check
  • Tues – Run 5m Rest
  • Wed – Run with  Back on my Feet Rest
  • Thurs – Strength Run 3m
  • Fri –  Run with  Back on my Feet Check
  • Sat – Run 12m Some, but not quite
  • Sun – Rest & Stretching Check
Obviously keeping it light this week with the upcoming half-marathon on Sunday.
  • Mon – Rest & Foam Rolling
  • Tues – Run 4m
  • Wed – Run with Back on my Feet
  • Thurs – Run 3m
  • Fri – Rest
  • Sat – Rest
  • Sun – RACE DAY!
I just ordered this foam roller and tried it out for the first time this morning.
Definitely doesn’t feel good while you are using it, but much better afterwards. If you are new to using a foam roller, I found these videos to be really helpful.
Alrighty, time to get to bed so I can run those four miles in the morning! Good night!
6 thoughts on “A Case of the Mondays

  1. Oh yeah, those apple cider donunts are looking “money!” Glad to see that donut pan put to use. The kiddos are for sure going to have to try some of those. They love apple cider donuts 🙂

  2. Hey Jess! I hope you have good week before your race! I can’t believe it’s almost October. You’re going to do great and I wish I could be at the finish line to give you a high five (because we give each other high fives all of the time). Anyway, sending you good thoughts and can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    P.S. NICE DONUTS!

    • That is an excellent idea Marta! I recommend you do the extra step of brushing with melted butter and then shaking in a cinnamon sugar mixture when they are still hot. I skipped that since mine were supposed to be my “healthy treat”, but no healthiness needed for CG!

Leave a Reply

