No Basil? No Problem

Somehow Whole Foods was out of fresh basil! What? And my heart was set on pesto pasta.

I’ve never dabbled in other greens in a pesto before, but when I realized basil was not happening, I decided to use the fresh arugula already in my cart. Delicious! I’m on the fence of actually saying I prefer arugula to basil pesto! Very unexpected. Having difficulty refraining from finishing the entire pot. Check out my recipe at the end of this post.

I am loving this mild winter weather in Boston right now. It was a gorgeous weekend for running. On Saturday I ran a lovely 5 miles along the Charles and this morning I ran 3 around Boston Common. One of my favorites in the park is the small section where all the dogs run free, leash less. They are SO happy and on an early Sunday morning there are so many dogs to see.

As you may or may not know, I have a bit of a dog obsession. Sadly, Ben and I do not have one yet due to the difficulty of finding rentals that allow them, but next place I live will ABSOLUTELY allow dogs. I refuse to compromise on this one anymore.

Sometimes my dog obsession might go a bit too far. I might recommend that you may not want to pet a dog without checking with its owner first, since it may surprise you as being the world’s unfriendliest bulldog and bite your hand. You also might go to your doctor and find out you have to get four rabies shots. Purely hypothetical of course. 🙂

I don’t care, I still love dogs and my heart is set on owning one soon. Just in case anyone was doubting the value of dogs, you should probably give this article a read. I dare you to be unconvinced.

How Dogs Spread Happiness

Anyway, I got off topic. I am thrilled to have my loving of running return to me. I don’t know if you could tell, but running was not as much my friend the past couple of months. When I get off target and let my running abilities lessen it is SO INCREDIBLY HARD to get back on track. Honestly, I don’t enjoy running until I am easily pulling off a straight 4 miles (albeit slowly). Before the 4 miles, it is a struggle for me. Not to say every run is fun from that point forward, but I feel so much more positive and energized by runs. And I am super excited for my next one.

So that said, I’m feeling good about my workout recap this week.

  • Mon – Accidental rest day Obviously
  • Tues – Run 2m Done
  • Wed – Quality treadmill time Yes, checkout my workout here 
  • Thurs – Strength training Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 Level 2
  • Fri – Cardio, including some miles Rest
  • Sat – Run, run, run Ran 5 miles
  • Sun – Run, run, run Ran 3 miles
Now, for this week:
  • Mon – Strength Training
  • Tues – Treadmill workout
  • Wed – Strength Training
  • Thurs – Cardio
  • Fri – Rest – I think I like my rest days on Fridays
  • Sat – Run 6m
  • Sun – Run, run, run

Don’t forget to sign up for Daily Mile and send me a friend request! I find the site to be super motivating and I bet you will too!

Arugula Pesto

Makes more than enough for a pound of pasta

  • 2 cups fresh packed arugula leaves
  • 2 large cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan

Blend in a food processor and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “No Basil? No Problem

Leave a Reply

