Half Marathon Training Begins

Hurray! Half marathon training begins today!

And I am kicking off the week with NOT running! I know, doesn’t sound like the brightest idea, but I ran Saturday and Sunday and I can feel the all too familiar tenderness in my achilles. I’ve learned it’s best not to ignore this, take a day off from running with some eccentric strengthening (I think I got that right?). Along with my orthotics, this normally does the trick. So here is my plan for the week.

  • Mon – Yoga
  • Tues – 5 x 400 @5k pace
  • Wed – Run 3m & strength
  • Thurs – Rest
  • Fri – Run 3m
  • Sat – Run 5m
  • Sun – Strength
My training plan is based on Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half-Marathon Training Program. The main change I made is to move everything up by a day so my long runs are on Saturdays. Running on Saturday mornings are just so much more realistic for me so I don’t have to get up super, super early in order to squeeze in a long run before church on Sunday, and the half-marathon I’m signed up for in Gloucester is actually on a Saturday. Perfect!
Make sure to check out the list of races I’m signed up for so far. Don’t forget my 1,000 mile resolution either and follow me on DailyMile. And yes, I am painfully aware how behind I am on that goal, but I’m not scared, I’m going to do it! 958 more to go.
Are you ready for some food talk now?
Earlier in the week I made this mac & cheese recipe. It is a great make ahead recipe if you are low on time and also can be frozen. I am really not big on freezing anything, I swear I can always taste that lovely freezer taste, but I have done this one before and it also works well.
Yesterday I did a good job of using up leftover food in our fridge. Normally on the weekends there is not much food left in the fridge to do this, since I buy according to my recipe plans for the week, but I was proud of my accomplishments yesterday. 🙂
For breakfast, scrambled eggs with fresh mozzarella, spinach, sautéed onion and pancetta. Yum!
And for lunch, lettuce with olives, hardboiled eggs and avocado. I whipped up a quick honey mustard dressing with some dijon mustard, maple syrup, plain yogurt and honey. Seltzer with blood orange juice on the side.
Now, for dinner (after my weekly trip to the grocery store). I tried out a recipe from my recent issue of Food & Wine; Chicken & Barley Stew with Dill & Lemon. I liked it, good for a winter evening or a winter cold treatment, but it wasn’t anything amazing.
Time for me to get ready for a girls day in the city! Hope you all have the day off today!

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Begins

  1. YAY, Jess!! You can DO IT! (That is my motivational speech- haha) On another note, all of the food looks superb and I LOVE that picture of you & Ben at the top. Classic! 😉

  2. Pretty flowers. your ancestors prepared food for Camelot. Don’t forget to think about what fave desert you want embroiderd with 1000 miles. It can be a LL Bean tote if desired

Leave a Reply

