Entitlement

This cracks me up. So, so true.

I didn’t end up formally giving anything up for Lent this year. Last year I gave up shopping (for clothes), but then I kept coming up with caveats as to when I was “allowed” to shop. Not really the point, now is it.

Little by little I start to realize how often I feel entitled to something. Well I have a job and work hard and therefore I feel that I am entitled to buy what I want. Now, I know that’s not really true. I really do. But in the moment I have an innate ability to convince myself that I’ve earned something, when really, I haven’t. I do the same thing for food. Well I want sweets or I am craving this particular thing, therefore I should eat it. That might be fine, if it was in moderation, but if you read my blog, you know moderation is not something that comes naturally to me. 🙂

This week I’ve been really intentional on trying to pass on sweets. And some of those times it was really, really hard not to automatically feed the sugar craving. Like mortifying hard. Then 20,30,60 minutes would go by and I would realize that I felt good. There is something to be said about denying yourself something you want. I know, slow learner. Baby steps. But I am learning.

Leave a Reply

