Well Hello There

Meet my new friends.

I met with friends from my church for our group half-marathon training run on Saturday. Two of us were waiting for the others to arrive and as my friend took her backpack out apparently these ducks decided there must be food involved. They were pretty cute and I was really surprised how close they came up to me (about a foot away) without even a hint of food around. They stared at us for a minute or so and then gave up and returned to the Charles. Silly ducks.

Since we are talking about animals, let’s continue discussing my dog obsession. Well, remember my crazy dog lady post and the pug I met that morning. Well, I’m so ridiculous that while I was waiting on the Charles, I once again stopped to ask to pet this adorable little pug that was walking by. Then I asked the name, um yeah, I’m pretty sure it’s the same exact pug I met that early morning. If the owner didn’t think I was crazy the first time, she most certainly does now. Oops.

I meant to post more this week, but the days just got away from me. I cooked less than expected, these allergies are seriously kicking my butt this week. Anyone else having the same? Claritin is a lifesaver right now.

Alright, how did we do…one note before I begin, the Achilles pain was a bit worse this week. Not to say this is as an excuse, because clearly I could have done something other than run, but I did have to back off on the runs during the week.

  • Mon – Run 4m Yes!
  • Tues – HILLS No
  • Wed – Run 3m & strength No
  • Thurs – Rest Strength
  • Fri – Run 3m pace No
  • Sat – Run 8m Done
  • Sun – Strength No

I’m hoping the Achilles calms down this week, but we will see for tomorrow’s run. I always get a little panicky when I start having pain. I know I’m not the only runner to go through this, but it is so, so frustrating to be injured. But this is also a reason why I should run when I can. I’m lucky enough to be able to, so I need to do it! The end!
This week…
  • Mon – Run 4m
  • Tues – 7×400
  • Wed – Run 3m & strength
  • Thurs – Rest
  • Fri – Run 3m pace
  • Sat – Run 8m
  • Sun – Strength

Looks similar I know, but technically with my training plan I’m supposed to run a 10k race this weekend, but it’s not going to work with our weekend plans so 8m repeat for me. I’m glad to have one more week with 8 miles anyway, the run on Saturday went well, but I was definitely feeling like my legs were like lead.

I’m starting to get in a salad rut. I really would like to continue keeping my lunch salads vegan, anyone have some magical vegan salad combos I should try out? This week, I’m having salad with one of these black bean burgers on top. Need ideas, please!

Also, can someone tell me why I cannot help, but rub my eye every time after I chop a jalapeno! Make the burn stop!

Leave a Reply

