Getting Back

Well, that was a bit of a hiatus. When you are sick for two weeks and the limited energy available needs to go into work; cooking and working out are not very high priorities. Hence, my lack of blog posts. Not a whole lot to share when all you do is go to work and sleep. Although, on second thought I could have posted some really attractive pictures, let’s see how red can Jess’ nose can get?

I have a little concern in the back of my mind that I missed two weeks of half marathon training and more importantly two long runs. Yikes. I’m trying not to get too freaked, I mean breathing has kind of been an issue for two weeks so there’s not much I could have done. Breathing is fairly essential to running.

Per doctor’s orders, I was unable to run my 5k on Saturday, but my awesome sister-in-law, Bethany was talked into walking the course with me. Thank you Bethany!

If I had been smart, I would have taken a picture of us at the race. But I’m not. So instead, here is one from November.

We walked the 5k  and finished in an unbelievably fast time of 49 minutes. Amazing isn’t it? Olympic speed walking team here we come. It was a very nice walking time on a sunny, cool day catching up. Ben might have gone just a bit faster. He has now completed his one run for 2012. Check.

So here’s the plan for this week. My first workout back will be tomorrow morning. I’m hoping my running capabilities have not totally disappeared, starting to run again at the beginning is always the worst!

  • Mon – one more rest day
  • Tues – Run 3m
  • Wed – 8×400 & Strength
  • Thurs – Rest if needed
  • Fri – Run 5m
  • Sat – Run 10m
  • Sun – Strength

AND I ALSO have a recipe for you. Not my recipe mind you, but yet another from my dear friend, Amanda. I could have sworn I already shared this one here so glad I made it tonight to share with you now. It is fabulous and very quick and easy to throw together for a nice light dinner.

Amanda’s Kalamata-Lemon Chicken with a side of grilled asparagus.

 

Amanda’s Kalamata-Lemon Chicken

  • 1 lb skinless, boneless chicken thighs (I also will use chicken breast too)
  • 1/2 cup pitted kalamata olives
  • 1/2 of a lemon cut into wedges
  • 1 tsp Greek seasoning
  • 2/3 cup dried orzo
  • 14 oz chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a casserole dish, combine all ingredients and season with salt and pepper. Stir, cover, bake for 35 minutes or until chicken is tender and cooked through.

 

One thought on “Getting Back

Leave a Reply

