A Sugar Vacation

What a beautiful day!

Ben and I had plans to meet up with friends and took a nice stroll down Commonwealth and through the Commons to meet up. Just before I had completed a lovely ten mile run around the Charles. With a few walking breaks, just a few…but it was perfect running weather, still cloudy at that point and 60ish degrees. Albeit slow, I was proud I finished the ten. I had missed a few long runs so it was definitely not easy to complete. There were a bunch of people out for a day of cleaning up the Charles River. I felt a little bad not helping out, but a big thank you to all the volunteers!

I might not have pulled off all planned miles this week, but I did try out two classes that I had never done before. Have you ever heard of or taken a Tabata class? I had a free pass to try it out at Equinox this past week. That is a super intense class, but I loved it! Basically for the entire 45 minutes you are doing 20 seconds of activity mixed with 10 seconds rest, and those 20 seconds are a bunch of reps of each activity. For example, one was doing burpees with a bosu ball, another might be reverse lunges off three steps, bicycle crunches, etc. You get the idea. Not only was the class intense, but I really liked it because it was doable for someone like me that has no spatial sense or really sense of direction whatsoever. I am easily intimidated in classes, because it takes me twice as long to “get” a movement as everyone else. In this Tabata class the movements were effective and straightforward that way not a second was wasted having to figure it out.

The other class I tried out was at the Life in Synergy studio. I had purchased a living social deal here awhile ago. I was a little worried about going to a class on my own, but I started out with a basics level and actually was perfect, because the class only ended up being me, one other person and the instructor so it was a great way to learn. I wasn’t sure what to expect and was thinking it would be something totally cheesy, but I didn’t find that to be the case at all. The instructor told me that the focus was to work on the muscles that we don’t use when we are sitting at our desks all day long. This makes sense to me and I was definitely pretty sore by the end and doubly sore since I had taken Tabata the night before and this class the next morning!

I’m feeling good about my activity levels, here’s how I did all week:

  • Sat – Run 3m Oops
  • Sun – Run 9m Ran 4.25 miles, too hot
  • Mon – Rest Done
  • Tues – 9×400 @5k pace Done
  • Wed – Run 3m & Tabata Ran 2m & Tabata
  • Thurs – Life in Synergy class Done
  • Fri – Run 5m Ran 2.75 miles
  • Sat – Run 10m Done
  • Sun – Rest or Strength Train I’m thinking it’s a rest day
So I feel good about my workouts, but the eating still not quite right. Well, not really at all. I’ve decided that starting tomorrow I’ll be taking a little sugar vacation for about 4 weeks. Sounds like a really cool vacation filled with sugar, right? Yeah, that’s me trying to make it sound positive. It’s a vacation AWAY from sugar. To be clear, sugar is still going in my coffee. But no more sweet treats. For now.
I know the theories always say that you shouldn’t totally deny yourselves things, that skipping it altogether will just make the craving worse and worse. I know there is something to be said about that thought, but when you lack self-control a little bit just turns into a whole lot more. Anyone want to join me on my sugar vacation? I’m thinking starting tomorrow until Memorial Day weekend.
Workout plan this week…
  • Mon – Run 5m
  • Tues – Life in Synergy class & Spinning
  • Wed – Run 9×400
  • Thurs – Tabata
  • Fri – Run 5m
  • Sat – Run 11m
  • Sun – Rest
Enjoy the rest of the weekend!
2 thoughts on “A Sugar Vacation

  1. WOW! I am so jealous that you get to run in and around Boston. I was on vacation there a few weeks (I live on the west coast!) and fell in love with everything about Massachusetts and the east coast. 🙂
    About your post … that Tabata class sounds awesome! Now that you mentioned something, I will have to look for one near where I live. That sounds like a good cross-training class that would be super intense and still fun at the same time.
    Best of luck with your sugar vacation, I think I might have to join you for a bit. NOt sure if my self-control would be able to last the full 4 weeks … might have to startr with 2. 🙂

    • Gabby, how is your sugar vacation going? It’s really unbelievable how many times a day I want sugar! Good luck with the Tabata class, went to another one this week and it was just as fun the second time around 🙂

Leave a Reply

