Motivation Needed

So why is it that when I’m making some strides towards healthier eating that I end up sabotaging my efforts. Two weeks in a row I lost some (minimal) weight. It is often around this time that I start feeling really positive, but then end up making one poor choice that leads to another poor choice and so on. And once again here we are today. I know, tomorrow is a new day, but still SO incredibly frustrating when I do this! Let’s just say, really only one slice of pizza at lunch was enough, wasn’t necessary to have two and the ice cream after dinner, also unnecessary. Does anyone else find that they take two steps forward and three steps back when it comes to eating healthier? How do you break through this cycle?

Okay, enough venting. New day tomorrow. Not a big deal. The end.

Now, let’s look at some puppies. This one is Basil the Golden

From my favorite way to start my day, Daily Puppy. I’m gearing up for renewing our lease time with the landlord and BEGGING to allow us a dog. I’m sure my husband isn’t tired at all of hearing about my dog obsession, not…at….all.

So the rainy days here in Boston definitely have me slightly brain-dead and cranky, but I’m finding I kind of love running in the rain. Is that weird? I mean, if it was rainy and 35 degrees out I would disagree with that statement (a la Maine Half-Marathon conditions), but give me a rainy spring temp day and I love it. Had an awesome run on Monday, I think it was the first time in a while that I didn’t glance down at my watch to see how much longer I had to go or how my pace was looking, I just really enjoyed it and even ran slightly more than I had planned to. I think my latest playlist was helpful too, check out some of my favorites right now:

  • Jai Ho – AR Rahman
  • Forever – Chris Brown
  • Wild Ones – Flo Rida
  • Pumped up Kicks – Foster the People
  • We are Young – Fun
  • Don’t Stop Believin’ – Glee Cast
  • Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye
  • Starships – Nicki Minaj
  • Crazy Train – Ozzy Osbourne
  • Back in Time – Pitbull
  • DLZ – TV on the Radio

I’ve been all about fish tacos lately and including this week have made them once per week for three straight ones. For this week’s recipe I had a simple and fast recipe from the latest Bon Appetit for Pickled Red Onions. All you need is the onion, obviously, apple cider vinegar, sugar and kosher salt.

I try to change up what’s in the tacos every week, in addition to the red onions, chopped avocado sprinkled with lime juice and my wimpy version of Edgar’s Salsa Verde.

 Definitely make this salsa if you haven’t already! Some other options I’ve made include shredded cabbage with cilantro, lime juice and olive oil along  with Cotija cheese. What do you like with your fish tacos? Any ideas I should try out for next week’s version?

Leave a Reply

