The Running Groove

Finally, finally, finally!

If you haven’t been able to tell from the last couple of months, running has not been quite the passion it used to be for me. Training for those last two halfs (halves?) was kind of brutal this time around, and running them, even more brutal. Not sure what happened, I just wasn’t having fun running anymore.

I was super worried about this knowing I was shortly heading into training for the Marine Corps Marathon. My seven miles the weekend before last was rough too, only really ran a part and had to bribe myself to finish by running two minutes and walking one, repeat.

But…finally! A week plus straight of awesome runs. Some of them might have even been a little bit painful, but I made it. Check out my progress on Daily Mile.

I’m so thankful to have the ability to run and for those awesome runs this past week. I know they are not always going to be the best and it is going to be really, really hard (especially those miles that have a 2 with a 0 after it, ouch). But I am excited to get moving on my marathon training plan.

As usual, I will go with my favorite Hal Higdon. My selection is the Marathon Novice 2 Training Plan. Anyone else training for a marathon? Want to join me?

I am making one adaption, I was just a little too nervous at the thought of stopping my training at 20 miles. I know, everyone does it, but to me the thought of finishing up the first 20 and then remembering how I only trained to that point, and then having to convince myself to keep going for a FULL HOUR longer seems rough. At least with 40 minutes left to go I can convince myself it’s just like a DVRd episode of Grey’s Anatomy (yes, I love that show and so this is a good thing, no judgment please). That said, I have built in a few extra weeks to make it to 22 miles.

So what’s my workout plan this week, you ask?

  • Mon – Strength
  • Tues – Run 3m
  • Wed – Run 5m
  • Thurs – Run 3m
  • Fri – Strength
  • Sat – Run 9m
  • Sun – Rest

And as if I needed more motivation for marathon training, how about this little blurb from my latest Marine Corps email:

It’s about Time

While there are no timing qualifications necessary to register for the MCM, there are strict pace requirements to maintainparticipation in the event. All runners must maintain a 14 minute-per-mile pace to meet the two on-course check points. Runners must reach the Gauntlet at mile 17.5 by 12:20 p.m. Runners slower than the required pace will be detoured for safety reasons but will quickly rejoin the marathon course. These participants may continue to run the MCM but will not complete an official marathon. It is requested any runners rerouted at the Gauntlet not accept a finisher medal. Of course, the battle cry for all MCM participants is to “Beat the Bridge,” just after mile marker 20. The 14th Street Bridge will reopen to vehicular traffic making it unavailable to runners after 1:05 p.m. Any runners unable to “Beat the Bridge” will be required to board the straggler buses and be driven to the event finish area. Also worthy of note, the MCM will start five minutes earlier this year at 7:40 for wheelchairs and handcycles and 7:55 for the runners. The course will close after seven hours at 2:55 p.m.

Note the part where you have to board the “straggler buses” if you do not Beat the Bridge. Now, I know I am going to be fine to beat a 14 minute pace, but seriously, this has definitely motivated Jess!

 

 

Leave a Reply

