Tuesday/Wednesday Eats

I promised and here it is…

Tuesday had some unplanned (seriously, such a planner) additional points, but I was proud that I didn’t go completely  crazy.

Breakfast – Banana & whole wheat bread with a tablespoon of sunflower butter and a teaspoon of honey, iced coffee with sugar (1 tsp) and soy milk (1/2 cup)

Lunch – Arugula & kale with summer squash, broccoli, bell pepper, 1/2 cup quinoa, olives and balsamic vinegar, raspberries for something sweet (and some day I will actually remember to take a picture of said salad)

Snacks – Larabar über Cherry Cobbler and a nectarine (look familiar?)

Dinner – Fish Tacos! Specifically, 3 small corn tortillas with grilled cod, avocado, Cotija cheese and chopped Napa cabbage and cilantro with lime juice. Followed by 2 glasses of Chardonnay, followed by 5 Ritz crackers and a couple of tablespoons of Cookie Butter (yes, this is what happens after glass of wine #1)

WW Points Used – 26 out of 26 daily and 14 out of 49 weekly points

I’m feeling positive that I will be sticking to my plan this evening, but I’ll fess up tomorrow if not 🙂

Breakfast – 3/4 cup Wild Harvest Cherry Vanilla Granola with 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk (have to say, normally cereal is more like dessert for me and never keeps me full until lunch, but this granola actually did, I was shocked, also full disclosure this was part of the box of goodies from Wild Harvest for Healthy Living Summit attendees, but my opinion, and I loved receiving this box!) Also the usual caffeine fix, iced coffee with sugar (1 tsp) and soy milk (1/2 cup)

Lunch – Arugula & kale with summer squash, broccoli, bell pepper, 1/2 cup quinoa, olives and balsamic vinegar, handful of cherries

Snacks – Kind bar and a nectarine

Evening – Leftover Cold Sesame Noodles and a glass of Rose

WW Points Used – 26 out of 26 daily and 1 out of 35 remaining weekly points

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate days where I actually have some extra points to work with, but often it’s somewhere in the amount of 2 points. Hence, the added glass of Rose, but that is 3 points. Anyone out there familiar with Weight Watchers know what might be some good 1 or 2 point options that are non-processed real food? Thoughts welcome, especially ones focused on sweets!

I was catching up on one of my blogger favorites and read about beating a sugar addiction. You know I just might have mentioned my struggles with sugar, you may even remember my attempt at a “Sugar Vacation”. Let’s all laugh at that one. How long did it last, like a day perhaps?

Well, this post was helpful in confirming my thoughts that going to zero sugar was probably not the way to go.  I’ve found that always eating some fruit after lunch seems to help my sugar cravings during the day, but I need to try to do the same after dinner. Sometimes a cup of unsweetened applesauce will do the trick for me, what do you normally try for your sugar cravings?

 

Leave a Reply

