Healthy Living Summit

I didn’t know what to expect, I just knew as soon as I heard Healthy Living Summit was going to be in Boston this year I signed up. As we got into the week before, I started getting a little nervous that my introverted awkward self would basically just be on my own for the entire weekend. What was I thinking signing up for something where I didn’t know a soul?

I was also concerned over the fact that I’m not much of a blogger. Lately I only blog once every week or so, there just hasn’t been enough time, but I enjoy it enough that I want to continue. I was scared I would be the only one where this was the case and then someone would wonder, why are you here?

Couldn’t be farther from the truth. As soon as I arrived at the cocktail party two people heading in at the same time quickly introduced themselves and made me feel welcome. From there it was easy, I felt during most moments someone either proactively reached out to me or I felt confident enough to introduce myself to a new group. This sort of thing is so far out of my comfort zone and it felt great to overcome my nerves.

Even better than expected, I met two women, one that was training for the upcoming Marine Corps Marathon (and had run marathons before), Theodora from Losing Weight in the City, and one that had run this same marathon twice before, Melissa from Melissa Runs. I was feeling a little lack of confidence over the past week or so, mostly my fault, with my lack of mileage during the week, but it was helpful to talk to both and get even more excited about the race ahead!

I got to connect with many different women that are local to Boston also and who I am so excited to get to know even better soon! Wish I had been better with the pictures of all of us, photo fail, but you aren’t surprised by this are you?

As if that wasn’t enough, I also attended several helpful and motivating sessions. I really took a lot from each one of them, but a special note of appreciation to Gretchen for her photography session. As you know, I need some serious help in this arena.

I did manage to take some photos, mostly of the delicious food, take a peek! Thank you to Wild Harvest!

I loved these, never had them before!

Something else awesome? Free shoes! Thank you Reebok!

Pretty excited about those, totally my colors too. Thank you to the fabulous team that planned everything this year, I have no idea how you did it, that is a large undertaking, thank you Meghann, Julie & Heather. I had an awesome time!!!

3 thoughts on “Healthy Living Summit

  1. Isn’t it funny how so many people confess to introversion and awkwardness and FEAR afterwards? I go through this every.single.time. I sign up for something like this, but I always make myself follow through, because it’s always awesome. =)

  2. What a wonderful way to spend a weekend :). Glad you ended up having fun and eating yummy food. Sounds like a nice group of people.

Leave a Reply

