MCM Training and More

Last we left off, I had finished my 17 miler. I was feeling great with that one and then the next week, 18 miles! This one was not quite as “easy”. I had a very limited timeframe to get this one done, might have involved hopping right out of a car after a long ride, heading out on my run during the hottest part of the day and then immediately getting ready for a fun night out.

It was HOT. About two miles in, I had to start reciting motivational words in my head. Not good. After 6 or 7 my friend Sara met up with me for the rest. I was still having a rough time when we hit 9 miles. Brilliant solution though, a stop at Starbucks for one of their delicious refresher beverages. This was very helpful, a little caffeine and a little ice! Finally, at 11 miles in, I knew I was going to finish. It wasn’t easy, but thankfully it’s done. It is crazy how much a hot day can impact my run.

After the 17 and 18 milers, I have made two decisions, my “nutrients” of choice while running will be the Honey Stinger Organic Energy Chews and I will be completing my long runs and race day with the Galloway method. I’m not sure I’m following his instructions exactly, but basically I run 9 minutes and then walk quickly for one minute and repeat. Not only does this method help with recovery (and hoping it’s the smarter choice for my plantar fascitis), but I either manage to maintain the same pace I would with continuously running or at times end up with an even faster average pace. The key is to keep that minute walk at a fast pace though. Once I start getting into the teens, it does become a little more difficult to start-up again after walking, but as long as I keep a quick enough pace I’m good to go. Race day strategy, done.

Check out my workouts here for the full recap.  This weekend is 19, yikes!

I’ve been up to a few other things too, besides running, here are some pics, but not all, you know, sometimes I’m a picture fail.

Lunch from the Herb Lyceum at the Copley Square Farmers Market

JRey’s Wedding!

Adorable Millie and me!

Ben’s (1 of 3) birthday dinner at Union Bar & Grille

Beet pasta from our trip to Vermont with summer tomatoes, fresh basil and Fiore Di Nonno mozzrella.

Delicious! Have a great night!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

