In Honor

It’s finally here. The Marine Corps Marathon!

When I was choosing which marathon I was going to run I asked a bunch of people and always heard that this one was a lot of fun and wasn’t too hilly (and you know, I don’t train for hills). But even cooler was that this was recognizing the Marine Corps and a race supported by the Marines.

My dear Grandpa was a Marine taking part in the first offensive campaign on Guadalcanal, New Guinea, Fiji, Cape Gloucester, Cape Hotchkiss, and Peleliu. The regiment he served in was awarded the Pacific Ribbon and The Presidential Unit Citation.

It has been almost three years since he passed away. He is greatly missed by all of us. He always kept himself so active, dearly loved his family, made friends everywhere he went and kept us all laughing and smiling.

I would like to run this race in his honor. Wish me luck!

One thought on “In Honor

Leave a Reply

