Marine Corps Marathon Recap

It’s official! I am a marathoner!

Can you tell I can barely stand to keep those shoes on my feet for another second?

The race was awesome. Despite the impending hurricane the weather was perfect for a race, no rain, only a slight wind towards the end and cool temps. I have to say, for those of you out there considering your first marathon, the Marine Corps Marathon is an excellent choice. I am so happy I chose this marathon not only for the experience, but also to celebrate my Grandpa, an amazing Marine.

Although everyone told me that this was a heavily supported race, you really don’t know for sure until you see it and I can confirm, it was. The Marines were stationed all along the course, handing out gatorade, water, orange slices, even Dunks munchkins at mile 24 and cheering you on. The crowds were along almost the entire race, also impressive. And the name on the shirt thing, definitely works. There were very few times where there wasn’t a presence of spectators and the places where this wasn’t the case, there were so many hilarious marathon signs that you were kept pretty entertained.

Now, the running part? It wasn’t easy, it was definitely tough, but I got it done. The one surprising part for me was the earlier “onset” of leg pain than I expected. I’m not really sure why this happened, there were hills at the beginning so this might have tired out my legs, as we all know, I don’t train for hills. The usual pain/fatigue whatever you want to call it didn’t normally hit me until around mile 17 or 18 in my training runs, but this time it was mile TEN. Honestly, miles 10 – 13 were probably the toughest part of the race for me, more around me realizing the fact that I would be running another 16 miles with that pain. So, as you might guess, I slowed wayyyy down. This was fine though, my goal was to finish, I probably only finished 15-20 minutes slower than expected and I did it. And I didn’t even have to hit the dreaded wall at mile 20, my wall was already over. 🙂

By mile 20 I was so happy to know I only had 6 miles to go, that I blasted my music and felt great. The 9 minute run, 1 minute walk method really worked for me too, I kept this up almost the entire race which kept me from walking any longer than that when I wasn’t feeling great. And at mile 23, walking was starting to get a little more painful to do than running so I just went for it and ran the last 3 miles through! It was awesome! And I finished!

Does anyone else have this happen when you upload pictures and your post gets changed? Once again part of my post got deleted and it was my favorite part! So here it is:

What was most important to say here, was how awesome my husband, friends and family were throughout the race with cheering, emailing, texting, tweeting, you name it to help keep me going. And not just during the race, but before and after running and during all of my training. I even had the poster below waiting for me when I arrived home, so awesome!

And a special thank you to the Connells and Jordanos that housed us, fed us, transported us and on top of all that came out to cheer me on during the race. We loved spending time with you and was so amazing to see you during my run!

So great. Thank you all!

Bucket List – Marathon. Check!

5 thoughts on “Marine Corps Marathon Recap

Leave a Reply

